And Those Who Were Seen Dancing …

… Were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.

Friedrich Nietzsche

Absolutely one of my all time favourite quotes!

Because I am one of those people who rather likes being a little bit individual! To be a first rate version of myself as opposed to trying to be a second rate copy of what the world wants me to be … or, perhaps more accurately, what I think it wants me to be.

A few of the signs that you are a fellow dancer to the beat of your own drum:

You Are On A Constant Journey Of Learning

I think Richard Branson expressed this best:

If somebody offers you an amazing opportunity but you are not sure you can do it, say yes – then learn how to do it later!

I am always learning – on subjects that help with my career I study and take qualifications, I read articles/ newspapers/ growth literature/ books like there is no tomorrow and am always coming up with random ideas like teaching myself how to play the piano, sew waistcoat/ bowtie combos for my Physics Undergrad/ Dr Who wannabe geek son or learning a new language.

This philosophy, I think, is a great way to approach life, work and everything. Knowledge liberates us from our ties and gives us wings.

It’s easy to take on someone else’s ideas and principles but it’s enlightened to learn the ins and outs of every one of them and decide what you really believe in.

Part Of That Learning Journey … Refining Your Ideas

The more you learn, the more you will realise there is always more to learn.

Nothing is ever set in stone, no theory is completely finished, no system is ever as good as it can be. There are always developments, breakthroughs and more knowledge.

Don’t be one of those people who makes up their minds on something and sticks with it for ever and a day.

Strength, growth and vision come from continuous effort and struggle, enjoy the journey and don’t ever become set in your ways.

Constant evaluation of your own thoughts and processes can be a brain tiring effort some days but it is something all the most successful people do.

You Have the Rare Ability To See Both Sides Of An Argument

When I went to school we had a debating society – Gabblers. I was a teen girl, with all the attitude that that implies,  and therefore never much saw the point of it. I frankly found it trying and pointless to come up with arguments for a side I wasn’t on.

But do you now what age and experience have taught me?

You haven’t earned the right to even attempt to change someone’s mind until you are able to argue the opposition’s side better than they can.

People who relentlessly think for themselves will always see multiple perspectives and realize that there are valid points on each side of the fence.

Nothing is black and white, be the kind of person that can see all the shades of grey – yes, even if you HATE grey with a passion!

You Dislike Any Status Quo

I think perhaps this is becoming more and more relevant in the times that we live.

Do you disagree with the ‘popular’ opinion on several topics? Sometimes it truly bothers you that the majority of people think a certain way?

I seem to find myself in both situations on a daily basis at the moment, pretty much every time I pick up a newspaper or switch on the news.

I’m not going to get into the politics of the day … generally a very ill advised move in a blog!

But it really is ok, and often a positive virtue in my opinion, to be disturbed about living in a society that’s attempting to coerce us all into being the same.

An important part of being an individual is to question the way things are and to stand up for what you believe in.  Be sensible and considered in how you publically vocalise it, especially if you are an employee or a small business, but it really is ok to vocalise your principles.

You Lack Automatic Respect For Authority Figures

The key word here is ‘automatic’. I spent many years working for an MP and a few other high profile/ successful people and the one thing I learnt more than anything else?

The constant stream of people willing to bow, scrape, grovel and be diminutive to those they perceived as ‘better’ were many.

How much respect did that get them? Absolutely none!

High profile figures really are just like the rest of us. Don’t ever assume that being in a position of authority makes someone better or less infallible than you.

Listen to them, learn from them, be inspired by them and suck up their aura but never change the way you are.

Treat the cleaner the same way you would treat the CEO, and respect anyone and absolutely everyone who earns it.

Emotional Intelligence

I know the wave of popularity for this relatively recent concept seems to be ebbing at the moment but I still love it.

Being tuned into your own emotions and reactions will help you be much better at doing it with those around you.

Our emotions need to be as educated as our intellect.

After all, what is the point of our time on this beautiful little marble floating in a sea of infinity if we don’t know how to suck the marrow out of the experience?

There Will Be Those Who Think You Are Crazy

And, you know what? That really is ok 🙂

9aa6074b7a7d05d70ad71e59ea03472a

 

Leave a Reply

