Maximising Your Social Media Mojo

I am sure that anyone reading this will understand when I say that social media can be a fickle beast, some days you are gaining followers at a speed that you can’t keep up with and some days it doesn’t matter what you do you just can’t seem to engage with anyone.

Great fun at best, really quite frustrating at worst.

Now, I am an avid people watcher. In my work it is a bit of an essential skill to notice the unsaid and to have a great sense for what is going on behind the scenes. Aside from the day to day work benefits this affords me, it is a skill that has stopped me from walking into many a minefield of office politics!

It occurred to me some time ago that it is not altogether unlike my approach to Social Media, a process of trial and error but if you are paying attention to the subtleties and are open to making adjustments when required depending on the needs of your audience you will eventually master the process

1. Work Out Your Why

Ask yourself why are you using social media?

If you know your why the how should always be a lot clearer!

Knowing your ‘Why’ is something you could explore for all aspects of life but my why for social media is for my little business – my twitter feed for instance is a the live bit of my homepage that gives my potential customers a clearer idea of who I am and what I know about/ am interested in. It isn’t about gaining lots of followers, although people following you is a great feeling, but this might be one of your drivers. It doesn’t really matter what your why is, the important thing is to understand it so it makes the how obvious.

People don’t buy what you do, they buy why you do it!

Do you want some guidance on finding your why? Simon Sinek is someone you should definitely check out …

2. Do Regular Engagement Checks

Pay attention … take some time out periodically to skim through your recent posts and take in what is getting traction, what is being shared, what is getting lots of likes and what is inspiring people to follow you?

Now I am not obsessive about this. You don’t have to look far to find lots of articles about how to gain thousands of followers in no time at all and get a constant stream of leads … Personally I think that kind of hard sell can be quite off-putting.

However you approach it engagement is rather like an iceberg I think, I read a lot of articles posted on Twitter but I don’t always like or share them. Just because people aren’t actively engaging don’t assume they are not reading and paying attention to you.

I had a call from a new client once who had realised that she really needed a Virtual Assistant and called me as she had seen many posts of mine on Twitter. I was the one who came to mind so it was my website that she visited, yet she had never liked or shared a single tweet.

The moral of the story, don’t assume a lack of physical engagement means no one is listening to you and get discouraged. However, that said, when you do get indications your audience likes a certain type of content … pay attention!

Twitter Analytics are great, and all the platforms have similar functionality.

3.       Get organized.

If you find yourself scratching your head about what to post on social media next, this tip is for you. It’s time to create a content bank.

This process takes two forms for me …

Internet Explorer – most people don’t use it anymore having been overtaken by Chrome and Edge but it is still there sat on your desktop somewhere, why not put it to good use?

My day to day browser is Edge, I open it and it immediately comes up with Twitter, LI, WordPress etc – the sites I use most frequently. But I also have IE set up with my most tried and tested sources of inspiration, up to date news and therefore content. At the click of a button you have a tailor made spring of bang up to date info and inspiration at your fingertips!

ie

 

Trello – Whenever you have an idea but for one reason or another can’t/ dont’ want to post it right then and there … add it to a content bank.

I absolutely love Trello for this job – it is free, very visual, you can have lots of different boards for all manner of things and as a fan of the tactile I love being able to drag and drop everything! You can also invite people to join boards which is fab for someone who works largely in remote partnership.

Simply put, the app is brilliant for someone who is a natural organiser and spends her life organising other people!

Trello.JPG

Whenever you have an idea, add it to the a board. When you use an idea you can archive it or if you are seriously organised you can reshuffle ideas into archive lists of content that worked well and not so well. Perfect for when you want to start recycling.

——–

Social Media can be a valuable content marketing asset for your business, but being organised is important to maximising success and minimising it taking over your life.

And if you know the benefits but don’t have the time to do it yourself, then you can just give me a call 🙂

Delegate.png

 

 

Leave a Reply

