Small Seeds #6 – Frogs Work As Well As Coffee

Yes, it’s that time of year again.

Time to tell the revenue what you have been up to!

And I just finished munching on that particularly sizeable frog 😉

For anyone wondering what on EARTH I am rattling on about now, don’t worry I’m not losing my mind.

This comes from a productivity philosophy that is about as effective as any I have tried!

If it’s your job to eat a frog, it’s best to do it first thing in the morning.

And If it’s your job to eat two frogs, it’s best to eat the biggest one first.

Mark Twain

I don’t know why my tax return has such a paralysing effect on me!

I’m not usually one for procrastination (I wouldn’t be terribly good at my job then would I?) and as a book keeper I love nothing more than the very defined and ordered nature of doing peoples accounts …

… but something comes over me when it is my own accounts. It rather reminds me of being a teenager again actually, writing endless revision timetables and suddenly having an overwhelming urge to tidy my bedroom rather than sitting down to study for my GCSE exams.

So this morning I sat down and decided to eat that frog rather than have it constantly in the back of my mind for another two weeks in the lead up to the end of the financial year.

Knowing you are avoiding something that is inevitably going to have to be dealt with is a pretty depressing and energy draining experience.

And now, after just a few hours, I have done it 🙂

YEAH!

And you know what?

I have absolutely no idea what I was worried about.

It wasn’t a particularly arduous task and, to be honest, I even quite enjoyed doing it.

Now I can get on with my life!

So, The Moral Of This Story

Is That

If You Want To

Boost Your Productivity

You Have To

Learn To Appreciate

The Taste Of Frog 😉

 

2 thoughts on “Small Seeds #6 – Frogs Work As Well As Coffee

Leave a Reply

