Small Seeds #7 – 21 Days Positive

So I’ve recently decided to take  a break from the negativity of the world … this obviously includes the TV News, Newspapers, Trending Twitter Feeds, Current Affairs shows, Question Time to name just the obvious ones.

That also includes a few friends but don’t tell them I said so 😉

Because, frankly, the lens through which we are asked to view humanity at the moment presents just the most unrelentingly miserable view.

I had started to notice that it was seeping into my bones!

Repeated complaining rewires your brain to make future complaining more likely.

Over time, you find it’s easier to be negative than to be positive, regardless of what’s happening around you.

Your brain loves efficiency and doesn’t like to work any harder than it has to. When you repeat a behaviour, such as complaining, your neurons branch out to each other to ease the flow of information.

This makes it much easier to repeat that behaviour in the future—so easy, in fact, that you might not even realize you’re doing it.

If you are not careful complaining becomes your default behaviour, which changes how people perceive you.

So I have been doing a bit of wandering around the internet this evening in search of positivity and inspiration and I found an absolute gem.

I can’t believe I have never heard of Will Bowen before but being a bit of a positivity junkie, however much I might be having a little wobble at the moment, I am very happy that I have now.

He has a challenge for us!

To go 21 days without complaining.

Every time you complain, you must reframe the complaint into an opportunity (within 1-2 minutes). Will Bowan advises wearing a bracelet on your wrist, and with each complaint, you must switch the bracelet to other hand and restart the clock.

An invaluable benefit of the challenge is the building a mechanism that transforms every complaint into a positive.

In other words: complaint triggers solution.

Now I don’t think I am too bad at that but in all honestly I think perhaps I will be surprised by how much I complain without thinking about it.

Apparently, if you can go 21 days on the same wrist you’ll not only be more likable to others, but you’ll become a better leader too.

Sounds good to me.

So starting tomorrow morning I am on a mission.

21 days to rewire my brain?

It seems like such a small price to pay!

But I don’t think I will be going back to Question Time any time soon 😉

“You can complain because roses have thorns, or rejoice because thorns have roses.” Ziggy 

Leave a Reply

